News & Events‎ > ‎Noticeboard‎ > ‎


posted 31 Jan 2016, 17:09 by Trentham member   [ updated 20 Apr 2016, 21:27 ]
Easter Art & Craft Show

Beautiful quilts, innovative textiles, unusual photographs and a huge variety of art works made the Trentham Easter Art & Craft Show another successful local event. About 2000 people visited the show, bought 61 pieces of art, and were impressed by the quality and range of work on display. It was particularly pleasing  to see many entries from Trentham  and Bullarto primary schools.

Peoples’ Choice (Art) went to Vanessa Gellibrand for her portrait of “Bear” a local Trentham character. Peoples’ Choice (Craft) was won by Jane Bloom for her stunning, mediaeval-inspired flower quilt.

The raffle, for a master-class with Annie Smithers of “du Fermier” restaurant fame, was won by Sarah Nankervis, daughter of the late Ellie Kemp, Trentham pharmacist and local benefactor.

Judges’ Awards 2016

Best in Show: Helen Cottle for “Summer landscape near Trentham”.

Best Local Artist: Ellie Young for her photograph, “Hang Zhou”, a back street in China.

Best Oil: Russell Annear for “Morning Mist”.

Best Watercolour: John Clarke for “Bridge at Malmsbury”.

Best Acrylic: Norma Webster for “Buddy Boys”.

Best Pastel: Sue Coad for “The Meeting”.

Best Other Media: Nonian Lier for “Heads up Lads”.

Best Photography: Kathy Diamond for “Waiting”.

Best Digital Media: Garth Henderson for “Constructive Botanics –repository”.

Best Sculpture: Sarah Peckham for “Sugar Glider”.

Best Junior Art: Otto from Trentham PS for “Dawn”.

Best Textile: Helen McRae for “Cape”.

Best Embroidery: Lyn Williams for “At the Bottom of My Garden”.

Best Ceramics: Tony Barnes for “Vase Copper Red”.

Best Manipulated Fibre: Anja Tusek for “Kissed by Klimt”.

Best Jewellery: no prize awarded.

Best Junior Craft: Marni Frye for “untitled”.


Entry enquiries to – Bette McLaren
Trentham Easter Art & Craft Show Committee
Phone: 03 5424 1127  Email:

General enquiries to – Jill McCallum
Trentham Easter Art & Craft Show Committee Secretary 
Phone: 0403 650 811  Email: